Many things

So much time has passed! Since the end of 2009:
I started my Master’s of Education program at the University of British Columbia. I am currently in the department of Language and Literacy, focusing on Teacher-Librarianship however, I am likely switching to an MA.

I got a .5 continuing contract! I hold a 50% success ratio of applications to contracts with the VSB (4 applied, 2 successful). I am now a part-time teacher-librarian at Laura Secord Elementary in Vancouver (BC). I teach some core French and reading too. Hopefully next year (or within the next few) I will be able to get more library time and less prep coverage. Secord is great; the staff and students are friendly. The school dual-track (English and French Immersion) and has a late-immersion program. The library gets A LOT of use, which is super awesome.

That’s pretty much it. I mean, I’ve done other stuff (still going strong with BCTELA – I’m VP for a second term) but that’s what’s kept me so hugely busy.
I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I hope to post more often in the proceeding months. Although as Yoda says: “Do or do not: there is no try.”

This entry was posted in Undefined. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Many things

  1. Congrats on your .5! I applied for MA this year… you have to give me tips for success because I’m a little bit terrified.

Leave a Reply

